The sexist washroom arrangement

… and other inconsequential matters.

So, I happen to be a PhD student at the Electrical and Computer Engineering department at university, and there is a very strange problem that I face every day. There is only one women’s washroom on my floor. Two men’s washrooms. The one women’s washroom is actually pretty far from my lab. I bumped into another girl student in the washroom today, and she commented on how sexist it seems. I agreed. I had thought the same thing when I had first found out.

The thing is, my department has a very skewed proportion of males and females. I’d pin the best case female-to-male ratio to about 1:6. One female for every six males. Bizarre!

It’s rather disappointing for a multiple reasons. Where are all of my brainiac women at? I’m surrounded by a bunch of guys who only talk math and understand little or no social or friendly convention. Heck, one of the reasons that I’m writing this post is because I’m supremely pissed at how little my male “friend” actually cares about being there for me, when times are not that great. He just point blank refused to listen to me. No explanations. No regards. I’m not only offended, but I’m also hurt. And there’s only one washroom to go cry in! Just kidding (okay, sorry if that was awkward… I’m not crying, you are)!

Such is the situation, that I’ve decided to fly back impromptu to India for three weeks. At least there are people there that care. I’m quite excited to see my boyfriend after a very long time; times have been tough for him to say the least, and I am really hoping to dump a heap of presents, loads of cheery joy and some mindful wisdom on him!

I’m also attending a machine learning symposium for the first time, prior to that. I’ve attended a workshop before this, but a symposium is a first, and I’m also supposed to present a poster of my work so far, there. I remember wanting to present my research work at Open Day, at IISc (my previous place of work), but didn’t get the chance to. So this opportunity is exciting!

I took my sketching skills to a new level by drawing face portraits. I wanted to capture a mysterious girl with a pleasant melancholy and I couldn’t think of anyone better than Hannah from Thirteen Reasons Why. I think the actress portrayed the role to perfection, and is very pretty.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-09 at 1.29.37 AM

I’m a bit rusty when it comes to my sketching skills, but I personally think it’s a good start. At least it looks like a human! I find artwork quite involving, and a good distraction from the sense of despondency that creeps in every now and then.

And then finally, when I find my spirits dampened, I usually resort to finding yummy things to munch on. I went to McDonald’s yesterday and tried their Pico Guacamole Signature sandwich with grilled chicken on a sesame bun. I was pleasantly surprised! McDonald’s and quality food? I’m definitely going to try the other two options (they have bacon in them) soon (or depending on how often I feel friendless, in this sucky place).

Not that everyone’s bad here. I’m the one at fault. I don’t socialize as much myself. So I decided to make newer friends, after the person I thought I could rely on ditched me. I thought to myself, why not go speak to the one person from my research group, that annoys me the most. It was a Eureka moment at peak-time anxiety. He actually gave me some good elder brotherly advice and I really appreciated it. Speaking to people really helps. He also mentioned some insight about Freud and that just reminded me of another senior-friend that used to mention Freud to me when I would go to him in a distressed state. This is a rather weird pattern that I do not want to fully understand!

Oh and in other news, Bollywood has sunk to insane lows in naming upcoming films like Jab Harry Met Sejal, Toilet: Ek Prem Katha and Tubelight. And these are just off the top of my head. The new Katy Perry music is bizarre to say the least, and haters can say what they want, but Linkin Park is not a sellout, I do enjoy the sound of their new music.

That’s all for the pensieve today. Till the next contemplation overflow, good day y’all!

Leave a Reply

